Countdown to Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games

Cardiff 1958

The 1958 British Empire and Commonwealth Games in Cardiff, Wales, were the first Games at which the Isle of Man participated.

The VI Games marked the largest sporting event ever held in Wales and it was the smallest country ever to host a British Empire and Commonwealth Games. Cardiff had to wait 12 years longer than originally scheduled to become host of the Games, as the 1946 event was cancelled because of World War II.

England's famed middle distance runners Roger Bannister and Chris Chataway were handed the honour of taking the Queen's Baton from Buckingham Palace on the first stage of its journey to Wales. The Games lasted for eight days and was officially opened at the Cardiff Arms' Park on 18 July by HRH Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh.

The Cardiff Games were to be South Africa's last until their post-apartheid return to the Games in 1994. A number of objections against South Africa took place in Cardiff because their team had been selected on the basis of race and colour rather than ability. South Africa subsequently withdrew from the Commonwealth in 1961 for 30 years.

A total of 1,122 athletes and 228 officials were sent  to the Cardiff Games by 35 nations and 23 countries and dependencies won medals, including the Isle of Man - Stuart Slack won a Bronze medal in the Men's 120 mile Road Race with a time of 5:19:21.7. Singapore, Ghana and Kenya also won their first medals at the Games.

The Cardiff Games featured nine sports:athletics, boxing, fencing, lawn bowls, rowing, swimming and diving, weightlifting and wrestling.

The Isle of Man participated in three of these and entered a team of 10 competitors.

Athletics - Dursley Stott (100 and 220 yards), G. Eastwood (880 yards) and W. H. Kelly (Marathon)
Boxing - J. B. Osborne (Middleweight)
Cycling - R. Kelly (Sprint, 1000 metres, Time Trial, 10 miles), F. G. Brew (10 miles), V. G. Holland (Road Races and 10 miles), R. E. Killey (Road Races), R. M. Quayle (Road Races) and Stuart G. Slack (Road Races)
Athletics - J. J. K. Quine
Boxing - A. B. O'Brien
Cycling - R. E. Boyde 
General Team Manager - A. J. Currie