Countdown to Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games

Delhi 2010

The vibrant city of New Delhi, home to 14 million people, hosted the Commonwealth Games in October 2010. This was the first time India has hosted the Games and only the second time the event had been held in Asia (Kuala Lumpur in 1998 was the first).

The dates for the Games were 3-14 October 2010, inclusive of the Opening and Closing Ceremonies. The Delhi Games Village was a low rise medium development on a 40 acre site in the heart of the capital which housed 6,500 athletes and officials. Existing and new stadia was used to house the following sports: Archery, Aquatics, Athletics, Badminton, Boxing, Cycling, Gymnastics, Hockey, Lawn Bowls, Netball, Rugby 7s, Shooting, Squash, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting and Wrestling. In addition, 15 events were contested across 4 Para-Sports, for elite athletes with a disability, on the inclusive Sports Programme: Athletics, Swimming, Powerlifting and Table Tennis.

Delhi won the right to host the 2010 Games by defeating the Canadian city of Hamilton by 46 votes to 22 at the CGF General Assembly held in Montego Bay in November 2003.

The Indian city of Pune hosted the 3rd Commonwealth Youth Games from 12-18 October 2008 and saw the following nine sports on the programme; Athletics, Badminton, Boxing, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting and Wrestling. The Isle of Man participated in six of these and entered a team of 30 competitors.

Archery - Sarah Rigby, Aalin George and Adrian Bruce
Badminton - Josh Green, Cristen Callow, Kim Clague and Matt Wilkinson
Boxing - Krystian Borucki and Dominic Winrow
Cycling - Mark Cavendish, Mark Christian, Chris Whorrall, Andrew Roche, Graeme Hatcher and Tom Black
Gymnastics - Adam Hedges, Alex Hedges, Joe Smith, Mukunda Measuria and Olivia Curran
Shooting - Tim Kneale, Harry Creevy, David Moore, Jake Keeling, Dan Shacklock, Neil Parsons, Gemma Kermode, Steven Watterson, Clementine Kermode Clague and Lara Ward
Archery Team Manager - Peter Mumford
Badminton Team Manager - Geoff Clague
Boxing Team Manager - John Cain
Cycling Team Manager - Gary Hinds
Assistant Cycling Team Manager - Mike Doyle
Gymnastics Team Manager - Haresh Measuria
Assistant Gymnastics Team Manager - Gennady Tsyganov
Shooting Team Managers - Rifle: Peter Quirk; Clays: Phil Ward
President - Juliet Holt
Vice President - John Knight
Chef de Mission - Tonia Lushington
General Team Manager - Trevor Taubman
Medical Team leader - Dr Frank Vaughan
Physiotherapists - Isla Scott and Ruth Cooil
HQ Official - Danielle Mottram